Patrick Parents
6 min readMay 22, 2021

--

A Labor union is an organization formed by workers in a particular trade, industry, or company to improve pay, benefits, and working conditions. Officially known as a “labor organization,” and also called a “trade union” or a “worker’s union,” a labor union selects representatives to negotiate with employers in a process known as collective bargaining.

But do bus drivers actually need them?

I spent the first 7 years of my career in a labor union, and when I revoked my membership, I found myself in the free world with no representation against the big bad bus company who wanted to fire me and take my livelihood away.

But that never happened.

My relationship with my employer was fine, I wasn’t tossed in the firepit of unfairness or bad conditions like the union said I would be. It was the exact opposite. Then I began to question why in 2021 did drivers actually need a union?

If you talk to most bus drivers, they hate the way things are now, right?

They think things are unfair now, right?

This is with a union that is supposed to protect us right?

I raised this question often in different meetings and town halls, only to be met with a “ they (the agency) are going to do what the hell they want anyway”. Which may or may not be true, but again, if that is the case…..what do we need a union for?

--

--